Honesty Hour on Health

I’ll start with a bit of a back story…

I had always considered myself as someone who was attentive to what they ate and strived to eat a healthy balanced diet. However I was under the impression that processed snack food and other nasties could and should be part of the balance, to avoid torturous feelings of deprivation. In truth, I was someone who was very self conscious of how my body looked. I was very much controlled by food, I would say I suffered various degrees of eating disorders from about the age of 11. I have spent so many years trying to find and follow the easiest, healthiest diet and lifestyle plans and inevitably spiraling out of control with feelings of guilt.

About a year and a half ago I took it upon myself to really begin to educate myself about nutrition. After experiencing debilitating anxiety and varying degrees of depression as a result of pushing myself in the wrong directions, I was exhausted and unbalanced and I just felt that my body was not functioning optimally. I was already well aware of the medical industry’s focus on their meal ticket and had been down the road of doctors and “medical professionals” in high school and they did not sit well with me at all. Plus I was dead broke and jobless. I knew this was in my power to fix and if ancient cultures lived for years and years with no unnecessary pills so could I.

I began with getting to the bottom of the food industry. And after discovering that the majority of food produced is tainted with toxic chemicals, preservatives, sugar  and just fake fake FAKE! I was disgusted and almost traumatised. It still astounds me how many lies are advertised and accepted by the general public. Seriously what is e622 and why is it  even in anything?! The idea that a lot of these toxic additives are safe is circumstantial. That specific amount in one packet of chips is usually just under the limit for it to be considered so, which means that if you were to eat two packets thats not going to be ok for you but as soon as you walk out of the supermarket its not the food company’s problem and they don’t care. The effects chemicals have on your system is unbelievably horrendous, not only physically with weight gain and skin eruptions but they do crazy things to your hormones resulting in uncontrollable fluctuations of moods as well as doing serious damage to your overall immune system. And the reality is that we have not been doing these things to food for long enough to know the true long term effects. (I wonder why the prevalence of autism and childhood behavioural disorders have increased so much in the last 10 years… hmm… )

When I was able to identify what was TRULY GOOD and what was not the I had anxiety around food reduced and I looked to healing the damage I had unknowingly been doing for many years. I discovered the principals of Traditional Chinese Medicine where they talk about storing emotions in your organs and if their not functioning correctly it can have astronomical effects on your mood! And vice versa if you’re a really angry person your liver is probably very sad and therefor not able to do its job of removing toxins correctly. I began understanding that certain foods at certain times had the ability to maintain or throw off this balance. And when I made the decision to start eating for health I saw dramatic and even unexpected side effects in my body and mind.

I will admit for a while I lost focus on health and slipped back into old habits of focusing on the physical aspects but that is why I feel confident to express my experiences and advocate my way of life because I have swung back and forth like a pendulum on numerous occasions.

All REAL food is good but you must still be mindful of balance.  You can always still have too much of a good thing. When you are truly conscious of what you’re putting into your body, you can tell what makes you feel good and what doesn’t. And when you’re striving for balance that means that within every meal or over the course of your day you should be exposing your body to a wide variety of REAL food and by that I mean whole foods, fruits and vegetables in abundance! And that includes nuts and seeds and spices galore! Herbs and spices are some of the best sources of antioxidants and have the incredible ability to transform any meal into an absolute masterpiece!  And knowing that everything I cook and eat is doing so much good for my body just fills me with so much love and gratitude!

Part || CONCIOUS COOKING coming soon but in the meantime … I implore you to explore REAL food 😀

Love G x

Leave a Reply

